Frances H. Arnold, George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter Win 2018 Nobel Prize In Chemistry

Frances H. Arnold, George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter won the 2018 Nobel Prize in chemistry on Wednesday for their work that “harnesses the power of evolution.”  

Arnold, from the U.S., was awarded half the prize for “the directed evolution of enzymes.” Smith, also from the U.S.,  and Winter, from the UK, jointly win the other half “for the phage display of peptides and antibodies.” 

The prize honors researchers for advances in studying how molecules combine and interact, and includes a $1.01 million award.

Last year’s prize went to researchers in the United States, Switzerland and Britain who developed a microscope technique that lets scientists see details of the molecules that drive life.

The winner of the Nobel Peace Prize is to be announced Friday. No literature prize will be awarded this year. The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, honoring the man who endowed the five Nobel Prizes, will be revealed Monday.

The medicine prize was awarded Monday to American and Japanese researchers. Scientists from the United States, Canada and France shared the physics prize Tuesday.

2018 Nobel Prizes

Monday: Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine is awarded to James P. Allison and Tasuku Honjo for advances in discovering how the immune system can fight off cancer.

Tuesday: Nobel Prize in physics is awarded to Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics.

Wednesday: Nobel Prize in chemistry will be awarded.

Friday: Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded.

Monday, Oct. 8: Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences will be awarded.

Comments are closed.